Ahmed Eltawil's Blog

Windows Live Mesh

Posted on: November 18, 2010

I installed Windows Live Mesh a while back when it was originally called Live Mesh. Then the Windows Live team decided to add it to their application suite and called it Windows Live Sync. Then they changed its name yet again to Windows Live Mesh. I liked the name Sync more, but I digress.

So now that I had it running on multiple computers at home and at work, I can say that I do recommend the product. It installs fast, lightweight, allows remote access to any added computer, syncs multiple folders seamlessly across multiple computers and it has a nice logo.

I would like to mention that I used to rely on Dropbox before I adopted Windows Live Mesh and I did enjoy it much the same as Mesh, but it lacked a client application control panel and remote PC access that Mesh has built-in out of the box. Also, and more importantly, Mesh gives you 5GB of SkyDrive storage dedicated to Mesh (think of it as your cloud storage space for all your Mesh synced folders) as oppose to 2.25GB that Dropbox offers.

A couple of more features that Mesh offers is the ability to sync your Internet Explorer bookmarks/favorites and Microsoft Office customizations (styles, templates, custom dictionary, email signatures) across multiple computers. I already turned on the IE favorites sync as I use IE on both home and work and getting my latest bookmarks on all my PCs is a huge advantage.

Overall, Windows Live Mesh made file syncing and remote access between my computers a breeze through its intuitive user interface. I definitely recommend it.

Leave a Reply

