Ahmed Eltawil's Blog

BlackBerry Bold GPS Performance

Posted on: March 7, 2009

Apparently I underestimated my Bold’s GPS. I always used to think that it won’t be able to get my location while I am inside my house. I used to have a dedicated external Nokia GPS module which I used with my Nokia E61 and even then I wasn’t able to get a single satellite signal in my house.

So last night I was playing around Google Maps and its new service ‘Latitude’. I was in bed away from the window (which by the way the curtains were shut) and in less than 40 seconds my BlackBerry Bold was able to get a signal from 4 different satellites. That to me was a shocking surprise!

Considering also that I previously owned the HTC Advantage 7501 (running Windows Mobile 6 Pro) with an internal GPS as well and I could hardly get a strong signal even in my backyard. And here I am laying in bed with the curtains closed and I was able to get my GPS working with a 6 meter accuracy on the Bold.

It’s just another reason why the Bold is such an awesome device.

Leave a Reply

@AhmedEltawil

  • Вторая проще. Русская краса | 2 years ago
  • Цветет,благоухает..Жизнью строки наполняет.. | 2 years ago
  • Розы, песни и стихи | 2 years ago
  • Ведь нажива, об этике, не сожалеет. | 2 years ago
  • Ни о влюблённости, что миновала | 2 years ago
  • Надо распустить свой хвост. | 2 years ago
  • Самое страшное - это с утра после пьянки зайти в контакт и увидеть "Мои фотографии (6)" | 2 years ago
