Ahmed Eltawil's Blog

Beta testing Windows 7 (64-bit)

Posted on: February 11, 2009

Two nights ago, I came across Windows 7 beta download site so I downloaded the 64-bit version. What I didn’t know that night was the fact that Microsoft was closing the download site the next day. So I was fortunate enough to grab a copy of Windows 7 beta to start testing it out and sending in my feedback.

I just love testing beta programs and especially when it comes to Windows. I was there during Windows Vista’s beta testing and I can’t describe how exciting the experience was at the time. It’s always fun to experience software first hand and help make it better for millions (probably billions) of people worldwide.

Well, so far Windows 7 beta detected pretty much everything on my aging laptop (Compaq Presario V2000) except the sound device. Usually I would run into video adapter issues when testing a new Windows version but to my surprise this time it was the sound card (first time ever). I was even further more surprised when my laptop was able to run Aero under Windows 7 when it failed miserably to run it under Vista. I guess I should never under estimate the power of my laptop’s hardware but then again it could be an indication of an improved Windows. But seriously speaking, I need a better and faster laptop.

There is a whole bunch of new features and neat tricks built into Windows 7 that makes this version fun to work with. Click here to read more about Windows 7 and to see a list of ‘What’s new’.

Windows Live Tags: Windows 7, Microsoft, Beta, Testing

 

Technorati Tags: ,,,
Leave a Reply

@AhmedEltawil

  • Вторая проще. Русская краса | 2 years ago
  • Цветет,благоухает..Жизнью строки наполняет.. | 2 years ago
  • Розы, песни и стихи | 2 years ago
  • Ведь нажива, об этике, не сожалеет. | 2 years ago
  • Ни о влюблённости, что миновала | 2 years ago
  • Надо распустить свой хвост. | 2 years ago
  • Самое страшное - это с утра после пьянки зайти в контакт и увидеть "Мои фотографии (6)" | 2 years ago
