Ahmed Eltawil's Blog

Life with Windows Live OneCare

Posted on: October 23, 2008

Most people, like myself, live in a house with multiple computers. I have my personal laptop, my younger brothers share a computer running Windows Vista with multiple accounts in the living room, and my mother uses another PC in her bedroom. And since I am the one responsible in maintaining a wireless home network with sometimes more than 4 devices accessing the internet at once (including mobile devices), protection becomes a major issue. And that’s where Windows Live OneCare comes to play. 

I can honestly tell you that I wouldn’t trust any other software besides it. I wouldn’t feel like a guy who is in total control of all computers running in my network without OneCare. What I love about it is how it just silently works in the background without interfering with your work or dramatically affecting your system’s performance as most other PC protection software does.

All I had to do is download the software and install it on every PC I have at home and then literally forget about it. I leave it to do what it does best: protect and maintain all my PCs. Windows Live OneCare scans and gets rid of viruses, cleans your system, increases performance, as well as give you the option of backing up your data periodically and a lot more.

When I subscribed with OneCare using my Windows Live ID, I was able to make my laptop the main hub for monitoring all other PCs that I added to my OneCare subscription. I then get notified immediately on my laptop whenever one of the PCs needs an update, cleanup, backup, or any task that needs to run in order to eliminate any sort of risk.

The feature that I love the most is Printer Sharing. If one of the PCs under my OneCare is hooked to a printer, that printer can be accessible to all other PCs! There is absolutely no need to buy a network printer or a special router to hook up your printer to the network. OneCare on my laptop automatically detected a printer in my network and installed it. Now I can use my laptop to type out a document and wirelessly print it to a printer that is hooked to a computer sitting in the living room. I don’t know about you, but I think that’s just awesome!

Switching to Windows Live OneCare a year ago is certainly one of the best decisions I have made and is definitely something I am proud of. I encourage you to give it a try and see for yourself how fast, easy, and convenient the software is. All it takes is a couple of mouse clicks for true peace of mind.

Windows Live Tags: clubhouse, windows live, onecare, spaces, story
2 Responses to "Life with Windows Live OneCare"

I REALLY ENJOYED YOUR ARTICLE ABOUT ONECARE.  I WANTED TO GIVE U A RATING OF 5, BUT SINCE I ONLY MAKE COMMENTS ON SPACES, I DIDN\’T KNOW HOW.  I JUST RETURNED TO SPACES AND WOULD LIKE TO INVITE YOU AS A FRIEND. FOR PAST 2 YEARS, I WENT FROM DUMMY NEWBIE TECH TO NEWBIE MEDIUM TECH.  I\’M A GOOD WRITER, I\’LL HELP YOU DRAFT TECH, FICTION, ESSAYS, COLLEGE PAPERS, IF YOU\’LL HELP ME FIX MY SPACE.  SOME MODULES DON\’T LOOK RIGH.  YOU\’RE PROBABLY TOO BUSY, EVEN IF YOU COULD REFER ME TO A MODULE, SET UP SITE THAT WOULD BE WONDERFUL.  YOU\’RE THE SECOND MICROSOFT TECH THAT GAVE ME GREAT INSIGHT. I ONLY ASK 4 HELP, WHEN I\’VE TRIED SEARCHING ALL SITES I CAN THINK OF, INCLUDING TECH NET, BUT I\’M NOT ON THAT LEVEL YET.   I LOVE THEIR SELECTIONS OF ONLINE CLASSES.  WELL MY DEAR, KIDS ARE HOME; THE PC IS THEIRS TILL BEDTIME.  I\’LL VISIT YOUR SITE AGAIN SOON.

I am glad you enjoyed my post. If you still would like to rate it you can visit the following link:
http://windowslive.com/Clubhouse/connect/post/ahmedeltawil.spaces.live.com-Blog-cns!CA3B008F40073FA3!869.entry

Leave a Reply

@AhmedEltawil

  • Вторая проще. Русская краса | 2 years ago
  • Цветет,благоухает..Жизнью строки наполняет.. | 2 years ago
  • Розы, песни и стихи | 2 years ago
  • Ведь нажива, об этике, не сожалеет. | 2 years ago
  • Ни о влюблённости, что миновала | 2 years ago
  • Надо распустить свой хвост. | 2 years ago
  • Самое страшное - это с утра после пьянки зайти в контакт и увидеть "Мои фотографии (6)" | 2 years ago
