Ahmed Eltawil's Blog

BlackBerry Bold v4.6.0.162

Posted on: October 12, 2008

Last night I read on several mobile blogs that a OS update for the BlackBerry Bold was available for those on the Rogers Wireless network, such as yours truly. So I went ahead and downloaded the latest OS v4.6.0.162 and installed it on my computer, connected my Bold, and fired up BlackBerry Desktop Manager. 

Desktop Manager alerted me that an update for my device was available so I followed the on-screen instructions and in a few clicks the upgrade was in progress. The process took around 30 minutes.

After the upgrade was successfully completed I played around with the device to see if everything was ok but unfortunately I had a couple of minor issues. Clicking on the Browser icon always took me to the Rogers Mall site as well as Facebook and Windows Live Messenger refused to connect.

After Googling for a bit, I found a simple fix that solved all the issues mentioned above. I had to go to Options -> Advanced Options -> Host Routing Table -> Highlight first row -> Press the BB button -> click on Register Now.

After that is done I did a hard reboot (took out the battery and placed it back in) and everything was back to normal.

There is definitely a lot of improvements in this version. The browser is faster when navigating or loading sites and the overall responsiveness of the OS got better.

This upgrade should also address the memory leak problem a lot of Bold users were facing as well.

In general, this is an essential upgrade for all BlackBerry Bold owners out there.

Leave a Reply

@AhmedEltawil

  • Вторая проще. Русская краса | 2 years ago
  • Цветет,благоухает..Жизнью строки наполняет.. | 2 years ago
  • Розы, песни и стихи | 2 years ago
  • Ведь нажива, об этике, не сожалеет. | 2 years ago
  • Ни о влюблённости, что миновала | 2 years ago
  • Надо распустить свой хвост. | 2 years ago
  • Самое страшное - это с утра после пьянки зайти в контакт и увидеть "Мои фотографии (6)" | 2 years ago
