Ahmed Eltawil's Blog

So, what is the perfect cellphone?

Posted on: July 23, 2008

Everyone thinks differently when it comes to choosing a cellphone. Some look for multimedia features and some look for internet and email features. And there are those whom just want to send and receive phone calls. I am definitely not one of them

For me, the perfect cellphone would have a lot of high end features as well as a large touchscreen. It must have the following: GPS, WiFi, bluetooth, QWERTY keyboard, multi-language support, at least 3.2″ high-res touchscreen, LED light indicator, at least 5MP camera with auto-focus, fast processor, large built-in storage, desktop-like browser, a large battery and an upgradable firmware. In other words, a mean pocketable machine.

Oh, I forgot to mention one more thing: It has to cost less than $700.

SonyEricsson’s XPERIA phone comes close to what I am looking for, but it will run the slow and ugly Windows Mobile 6.1 Professional. The iPhone lacks a physical keyboard, a descent camera, and a good battery life. The Nokia N95 8GB is a great device but it doesn’t have a QWERTY keyboard or a touchscreen.

So as you can see, the perfect phone I am looking for doesn’t exist yet. But there are numerous alternatives that I am forced to accept to live with.

I will soon receive my iPhone 16GB in the mail which I sent to AppleCare for repairs two weeks ago, and my dad will bring a Nokia N95 8GB, that I asked him to buy for me, when he arrives to Canada a week from today. Which means I will be comparing all devices, including my current Nokia E61, and figure out which one I will favour the most.

So stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

