Ahmed Eltawil's Blog

Nokia E71 is Officially Announced

Posted on: June 17, 2008

I have always been fond of Nokia’s E series phone lineup so I was excited when I read that Nokia officially announced the new E71. It’s certainly a pretty device with pretty much all the high end features a business user could ask for. 

What surprised me is the phone’s new size. Apparently it’s a bit smaller and a lot thinner than the E61 but still manages to pack more features. The E71 has built in GPS/A-GPS, 3.2 MP camera with flash, front VGA video camera, and runs the latest S60 Symbian OS. As well as the usual QWERTY keyboard, WiFi, and Bluetooth.

I was disappointed to see the same screen size though. Honestly, I was hoping for a total makeover for the phone’s form factor. I am not saying that I didn’t like the E61’s design (I wouldn’t be using it right now to blog if it was true) but I was hoping for Nokia to come up with a slide out QWERTY keyboard phone with a large screen that covers most of the phone’s size. And I thought this would be the E71. I am positive that I am not the only one who is waiting for a Nokia phone with a screen larger than N95’s screen.

Nevertheless, the E71 is an attractive, slim, and feature packed phone with lots to offer and it certainly proves the E61’s success in the mobile market.

 

Leave a Reply

