Ahmed Eltawil's Blog

Upgrading to NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT

Posted on: March 12, 2008

It wasn’t as simple as swapping video cards, but I managed to get it done right without a single glitch.

Yesterday I bought a new Nvidia GeForce 8800 GT from FutureShop at a good price (which by the way was on sale). When I got home and opened up my Intel Core 2 Quad PC to install the new card into the PCI Express slot, I noticed that there wasn’t any connectors left from the power supply. Furthermore, the video card recommends at least a 400 watts power supply and the one I have gave a total of 300 watts only. So in other words it was time to upgrade the power supply as well.

FutureShop and BestBuy has a couple of overpriced power supplies so I decided to grab one from a small computer shop near my house. I managed to find a good 580 watts power supply at a reasonable price.

So I went back home, removed the old 300 watts and replaced it with a beafier 580 watts. Then I installed the massive Nvidia GeForce 8800 GT and fired it up. Now, I failed to mention that I didn’t have a video card prior to this. The whole time I was using the integrated piece of crap graphics chipset that came built into the motherboard. So you can imagine the difference that I will experience.

I have to admit, playing Team Fortress 2 now seems like I have never played it before. Everything seemed to come to life. It’s certainly a day and night difference. Finally, I am experiencing the game as it should be.

Now that my video card is up to date, I can finally grab a game that will definitely run smooth on my PC. I always wanted to try out either Assassin Creed or Crysis. Who knows, I might even grab them both. Both seem to get a lot of good reviews and I have seen numerous gameplays on YouTube and they got me a lot more excited to try them out.

So what’s next on the upgrade list? Nothing crucial really. But it would be nice to get a large widescreen monitor and maybe upgrading the RAM from 2Gb to 4Gb. But in the meantime, I am certainly quite satisfied with my PC’s performance.

Leave a Reply

