Ahmed Eltawil's Blog

Shipping With USPS Sucks

Posted on: March 10, 2008

Apparently I am not the only one who ever had a problem with USPS. After googling the issue I am having, it turns out there have been numerous victims out there.

Three weeks ago, I bought an item from ebay (which I have a lot of experience in). During the first week, the seller had a problem with USPS. Apparently they didn’t send him the right boxes so he had to delay shipping the item until the second week. So after he sent me the tracking number on the second week, it showed on the USPS website that the item was received by their system. A couple of days into the second week, the USPS website updated the information displayed and indicated that the item is now at the "international dispatch" ready to leave the country. And that’s where it is since then.

Two full weeks (that’s ten business days) after the item was shipped, the item still remains at the international dispatch. I come home every single day after work looking for my package and end up dissappointed. Personally, I hate waiting. Patience is something that I totally lack. And I haven’t ever experienced such horrible shipping through out my entire ebay history except for this time. It’s not like it’s the first time I bought something online and got it shipped from the States either. As a matter of fact, I bought an item that was twice as expensive from a city in California and it arrived in less than five business days through UPS.

So far, all I know is that the item is still stuck in customs waiting to be cleared for over ten business days. To me, that sounds like a lot of time. And I am sure that most of it is time wasted. I am hoping that I won’t have to wait another full week. Maybe I will be lucky enough to come home tomorrow from work and finally find my package has arrived.

Leave a Reply

